Our Background

Our Community begun in Nairobi, Kenya in September 1993 by young men who had undergone their initial formation in the Order of Friars Minor: Fr. Francis Kamau, Fr. John Basiimwa, Fr. Nicholas Onyach and Fr. Jogues Abenawe. Fr. Andre McGrath OFM,  a time Rector of Tangaza College in Nairobi played a major role in our foundation and  is considered a co-founder and sponsor of our congregation. When he returned to the US, Christians of St. John the Evangelist Church in Nairobi took care of us. Fr. Peter Gichure, Fr. William Sinkele OP, Sr. Redempter Mbaire and many friends became spiritual directors and mentors.

Since our foundation, we have called ourselves , “The Lyke Community,” in honor of the the late Archbishop James Patterson Lyke, OFM, PhD, the Archbishop of Atlanta, Georgia — because he had visited us and encouraged us before our foundation.

Our community was formally established as a Public Association of Christ’s Faithful in October 26, 1999 and the Constitutions was approved by the decree of Archbishop Raphael Ndingi Mwana a’ Nzeki who by then was the Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Nairobi, Kenya.

Our Motherhouse is in Nairobi, Kenya. It’s cornerstone was laid down by Archbishop Giovanni Tonucci by then the Apostolic Nuncio to Kenya in November 8, 2002. This house serves as administration and a study house.

Our Parishes & Formation Houses

  1. Holy Eucharist Parish, (King’eero), Nairobi, Kenya.
  2. St John the Apostle Parish, (Awasi), Kisumu, Kenya
  3. Our Lady of the Pines Church, Shreveport, Louisiana, US
  4  Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament Church, Shreveport, Louisiana, US
  5  Sacred Heart Church, Shreveport, La.

Between 2003-2007, we have also ministered in Our Lady of the Blessed Sacrament Church where some of our brothers were involved in both the parish and the outreach program to the homeless at the Christian Service Center in the Diocese of Shreveport, US. We also served at Saint Benedict the Black Parish and University Chaplaincy at Grambling State University in Grambling, Louisiana, and the mission chapel of our Lady of Perpetual Help in Farmerville, Louisiana, in the United States of America.
Franciscan Missionaries of Hope
The Lyke Community

Franciscan Missionaries of Hope, (The Lyke Community), is  a catholic congregation of priests and brothers inspired by the Holy Spirit to live together and observe the Holy Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ following the spirituality of St. Francis of Assisi in witnessing to the life of poverty, chastity and obedience while committed to our mission and ministry of hope to God's people.